Wildlife Journal Junior!
New Hampshire PBS

Home       |       Wild Files       |       N.H. Animals       |       Animals A-Z       |       Watch Online

Diprotodontia - wombats, kangaroos, wallabies, koalas

WallabyThere are 146 different species of diprotodontia. They are marsupials and are only found in Australia, New Zealand, New Guinea, and surrounding islands. Unlike the Dasyuromorphia and Monotremata orders of marsupials, the second and third toe on the hind feet of the marsupials in this order are joined together and they have two large incisors on their lower jaw. Like all marsupials, the females have pouches and the young are born blind, hairless, and helpless. Most of the species in this order are herbivores. Animals in this order include: wombats, kangaroos, wallabies and koalas. There are 10 families in this order.


  Acrobatidae (feathertails)
  Burramyidae (pygmy possums)
  Macropodidae (kangaroos)
Petauridae (gliders)
  Phalangeridae (brushtail possums)

  Phascolarctidae (koalas)
  Potoroidae (bettongs, potoroos)
  Pseudocheiridae (ringtailed possums)
  Tarsipedidae (ringtailed possums)
  Vombatidae (wombats)