Wildlife Journal Junior!
New Hampshire PBS

Home       |       Wild Files       |       N.H. Animals       |       Animals A-Z       |       Watch Online

Lamniformes - mackerel sharks

Great White SharkThere are 15 species in this order of sharks. The sharks in this order range in size from 2-10 feet. They have two dorsal fins, an anal fin, and five pairs of gill slits. They have no nictitating membrane (a third clear eyelid) and long, pointed flat or cone-shaped snouts. Their mouths extend past their eyes. In most species, the top and bottom part of the caudal or tail fin is the same shape.

Mackerel sharks are found in the Atlantic, Pacific, and Indian Oceans from depths of 600 to 4,000 feet. Females give birth to live young, but sometimes the developing shark babies eat their siblings before they are even born.

The sharks in this order eat bony fish, sharks, rays, squid, and crustaceans. Species in this order include the familiar thresher sharks, basking sharks, mako sharks, and great white sharks.


 Alopiidae (thresher sharks)
 Cetorhinidae (basking sharks)
 Lamnidae (great white sharks, mako sharks)
 Megachasmidae (megamouth sharks)

 Mitsukurinidae (goblin sharks)
 Odontaspididae (sand tiger sharks)
 Pseudocarchariidae (crocodile sharks)