Wildlife Journal Junior!
New Hampshire PBS

Home       |       Wild Files       |       N.H. Animals       |       Animals A-Z       |       Watch Online

Carnivora - canines, felines, bears, raccoons, sea lions, seals

Brown BearMost carnivores are meat-eaters. Their jaws only move vertically, or up and down. Most carnivores have sharp side teeth, or canines, that help them tear into meat. Most species in this order are land animals, but the pinnipeds live in the ocean. This order is very diverse. Animals in this order include wolves, lions, bears, raccoons, sea lions, seals, walruses, weasels, skunks, otters, badgers, civets, mongooses, and hyenas. There are over 260 mammals in this order in 13 families.


  Ailuridae (red panda)
  Canidae (coyotes, foxes, wolves)
  Felidae (cats, cheetahs, lions, tigers)
  Herpestidae (mongooses)
  Hyaenidae (aardwolf, hyenas)
  Mephitidae (skunks, stink badgers)
  Mustelidae (badgers, otters, weasels)

  Odobenidae (walruses)
Otariidae (fur seals, sea lions)
Phocidae (seals)
Procyonidae (coatis, raccoons)
Ursidae (bears)
Viverridae (civets, genets, linsangs)